cpd23: Thing 13 – GoogleDocs, Dropbox, Wikis

Thing 13 is about online collaboration and file sharing. So far, I haven’t had any need for these tools.

Sharing documents and collaborated editing

  • Google Docs is indeed a very easy way of collaborating on editing the same document or presentation and sharing the results. However, I don’t like that you have to have a Google email account requiring everybody who wants to work on the document to get one. At work, we have a file server for sharing documents. Google Docs may be useful for team projects and activities in professional development courses outside work with people from various institutions.
  • I installed Dropbox a few weeks ago in order to share files with my brother. I like the idea to view, download and upload any files, however, I am a little bit concerned about the access rights the program has to my system/folder via the Internet – it feels as if my computer is very unprotected and public. I will definitely keep it in mind for future use.

Conclusion: In the past, I have shared files via the document center provided my email provider. I haven’t made up my mind yet what to use – Dropbox or GoogleDocs or both? I find the comments by fellow cpd23 participant Laura Steel as well as the post “Dropbox or Google Docs?” by bonnieface at The TechLounge very helpful.

I am going to try out Dropbox a little bit more for sharing single files with people (I am not sure about folders as most of my colleagues or friends haven’t yet a Dropbox account). Again, too many options for file sharing. What is the best? Test opportunities will probably come up in the near future.

Although I think all of these things seem really useful, none of them are directly relevant to my current job. At work we have a shared drive and any files to be edited by more than one person are stored there. However, both Google Docs and Dropbox could be useful if I needed to work on a document at home. I will continue to use both of these tools, probably keeping GoogleDocs for documents relating to my career and work and Dropbox for more personal items.

Wiki
We are using a wiki at work for keeping up-to-date information and procedures. I learned about the Library Routes Project – great idea!


Photo: Brecon Beacon National Park, Wales, July 2011. (c) Sabine Rauchmann

2 thoughts on “cpd23: Thing 13 – GoogleDocs, Dropbox, Wikis

  1. Nice post. I learn something more challenging on different blogs everyday. It will always be stimulating to read content from other writers and practice a little something from their store. I’d prefer to use some with the content on my blog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a link on your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

    • Thanks for your feedback! It is the same with me – I also like to read posts of other participants to get to know their way of approaching and experiencing the tools and topics.

Leave a Reply

