cpd23: Thing 17 – Prezi and SlideShare

Thing 17 looks at online presentation tools.

Prezi
Prezi is a very nice tool. I breathed new life into my library introduction powerpoint slides and likee the result. The effects on the students watching have been amazing – it catches their attention. However, last time I got stuck because the Internet was down – so it is always a good idea to have a Powerpoint presentation as a backup.

Thewikiman’s introduction to Prezi is very helpful. For me, it also shows to use as many pictures and as few text as possible. I love the zoom in and out dynamics as well as the possibility to apply a mindmapping approach. I can see me using this a lot more in the future.

A few Prezis I liked:

Slideshare
Is a great place and archive for sharing powerpoint presentation on the (social) web. The disadvantage: only persons with an account at Slideshare can download the presentation.

Some presentations I liked:

Can you think of materials you have produced which could gain a new audience on Slideshare? No.

Visual Resume – do you think this could replace (in certain circumstances) your paper CV or resume? No, would be overkill at the moment.


Photo credit: Grass hopper, New Jersey.
(c) Sabine Rauchmann, September 2011.

To save/have another look: Zamzar for free conversion to png or pdf, Picnik for photo frames and other treatments.

2 thoughts on “cpd23: Thing 17 – Prezi and SlideShare

  1. Hey Sabine, just a quick note to say you can always hit ‘download’ and save your Prezi to a USB stick, so you aren’t relying on having internet access.

    I agree about the reactions of the students – I just did my first (ever) induction session, about an hour ago, using Prezi and they loved it; so did the staff.

    • Thank you for reminding me about the download option! I will definitely keep it in mind for the future. 🙂

Leave a Reply

